*The featured image is from Sleeping At Last’s official page and can be found through this link: http://www.sleepingatlast.com/atlas-yearone/”

Before I start, I have to say that this is my first time reviewing music so if there are certain terms which are wrong, please do let me know.

Sleeping At Last was a band I discovered about a year back in the midst of an epic drinking furor and has stuck with me since. It’s an alternate rock music project by singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Ryan O’Neal, founded in 2009. The band has had one major album release ‘Ghosts’ in 2003 with Interscope Records and has gone independent since.

Atlas is their most recent project that started from 2013 and is a series of albums that focus on different aspects (and named accordingly) such as Space, Land, Oceans, Life, Senses and Emotions.

The project is a thing of beauty. From vocals that will inspire you, sadden you, give you peace, hope, gloom and hopeful proclivity all in a single album, is a feat of itself.

As of writing this article, I have listened to the Albums Space 1 & 2, Oceans and Land. They are all incredibly powerful but I have listed the best song of each of these albums, according to me.

Space 1: “Moon”
A beautiful instrumental piece which starts slow and builds up to a beautiful ending.

Space 2: “Saturn”
The song that can make you cry, this song can be read as a love song, an epilogue or an obituary. Or maybe, all 3.

Oceans: “Artic”
This is an instrumental piece with stunning range and a grandeur that pulls you into its charm.

Land: “North”
I am running out of adjectives so simply put, this is the song that I think a lot of people can relate to with its raw undertone and meaning.

You can find Sleeping At Last’s official blog here and their YouTube page here.

 

 

